Unaccepted

It’s always fascinating to me how quickly people will turn on you. It always leads me to question whether or not that person was really ever supportive in the first place.

A person will see your less than happy side once, and all of a sudden they turn on you. One disagreement, and you’re the scum of the earth. They see you in a less than favourable light once, and they turn you into some kind of monster in the eyes of anyone who will listen.

When I find myself in this situation, where I’m seeing a side of someone I’ve never seen before, I try to give them the benefit of the doubt. Apparently, I’m not worth the same consideration to these very same people. I’m not entitled to the same benefit.

I’m of the opinion that this has a lot do to with the city I live in. It’s a rather small city, with a huge small-town ideology. I only moved here a few years ago. I’m still an outsider looking in to these people. I do not have the benefits of a group of friends that are accepting of the bad qualities in people, as they are of the good qualities.

This is where I find the inconsistencies in people who live here. These people tell me to my face that they’re good, accepting people. And they are! But there’s a catch. They’re good and accepting to people in their own clique. I, however, do not belong to a clique, and therefore do not deserve the same acceptance.

The people in this city have often told me that they pride themselves on their kindness and civility. I’ll believe it when I see it. In the years I’ve lived here, I have yet to see someone from the “outside” be treated on the same level as someone from the “inside”. The inconsistencies between spoken promises and action never cease to amaze me. As I said, I’ll believe in the kindness and civility when I see it. It sure hasn’t been shown to me.

Oh, but every body knows this is the part
Of breaking down in anybody’s arms.
I’m reaching down and hoping this one’s ours.
Please let this stay.
~ Mayday Parade – Walk On Water or Drown

~ by aubreysmith9412 on August 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
