My Personal Challenge – The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, Douglas Adams

The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy – Douglas Adams

Synopsis

Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.
Together, this dynamic pair begin a journey through space aided by quotes from The Hitchhiker’s guide and a galaxy full of fellow travelers: Zaphod Beeblebrox — the two-headed, three-armed ex-hippie and totally out-to-lunch president of the galaxy; Trillian, Zaphod’s girlfriend (formally Tricia McMillan), whom Arthur tried to pick up at a cocktail party once upon a time zone; Marvin, a paranoid, brilliant, and chronically depressed robot; Veet Voojagig, a former graduate student who is obsessed with the disappearance of all the ballpoint pens he bought over the years.
Where are the pens? Why are we born? Why do we live? Why do we spend so much time between wearing digital watches? For all the answers stick your thumb to the stars. And don’t forget to bring a towel!

 

My Thoughts

It is with some regret that I report I did not enjoy reading this book. I am not a fan of science fiction. As such, I found a lot of this extremely difficult to wrap my head around. It was far too much for me to handle.

That being said, I did laugh a lot during the reading. It is quite a funny book, as it is entirely ridiculous. Unfortunately, that really is all I have to say about it. Regardless of having laughed at it, I still did not enjoy it.

 

~ by aubreysmith9412 on August 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
