My Personal Challenge – Winnie The Pooh, A.A. Milne

Winnie the Pooh – A.A. Milne

Synopsis

Christopher Robin had a friend named Edward Bear. One day Edward Bear said he would like an exciting name all to himself. Without stopping to think about it at all, Christopher Robin said that he was Winnie-the-Pooh, Pooh for short. And he was. He seems to have been very happy about it all these years — and so will you be.

Winnie-the-Pooh lived in a forest all by himself, and Christopher Robin lived behind a green door in another part of the wood. In this same wood lived Piglet, Rabbit, Owl, Kanga and Little Roo, and Eeyore. The stories are about these good companions having wonderful times getting in and out of trouble. It is all very exciting and, really, quite thrilling, no matter how young or how old you may be.

My Thoughts

I definitely see the appeal of these books for children. As a child, I never read them or had them read to me, so this was a whole new experience. As I child I probably would have greatly enjoyed the daftness of Pooh, and how hard he tries to make everyone around him happy, all the while thinking of his next snack. As an adult, I found it quite difficult to get wrapped up in the story and enjoy myself.

Overall, it’s an enjoyable read. It’s very witty and quirky, as Pooh and the gang find themselves in all sorts of situations! I’m saddened that I never experienced this as a child, and now I fear I’m far too old to truly appreciate Winnie The Pooh for what it is. Maybe I’m just too jaded. Either way, that knocks another book off my BBC list!

~ by aubreysmith9412 on December 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
