Relic – Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Relic – Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Synopsis

Just days before a massive exhibition opens at the popular New York Museum of Natural History, visitors are being savagely murdered in the museum’s dark hallways and secret rooms. Autopsies indicate that the killer cannot be human…

But the museum’s directors plan to go ahead with a big bash to celebrate the new exhibition, in spite of the murders.

Museum researcher Margo Green must find out who-or what-is doing the killing. But can she do it in time to stop the massacre?

My Thoughts

I quite enjoyed reading this book. Relic is the beginning of the masterful Pendergast series, and what a beginning it is! I’ve read a few of the later Pendergast books, beginning with Still Life With Crows and keeping up with them all. I feel I enjoyed Relic far more due to my background knowledge of the Pendergast character, as well as some of the others that recur throughout the series.

Pendergast is an intricate, eccentric, idiosyncratic character. The subtle introduction he was given here was definitely a step in the right direction.

The entire plot and conception of this book was exquisite! There are many points at which I believed to have this mystery “figured out”, only to be led in a completely different direction. I absolutely love being stumped by a book, and this one definitely confounded me from beginning to end. I could not have asked for a better book to finish off my 2011 reading year.

~ by aubreysmith9412 on December 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
