2011 Reading Roundup

In May, I challenged myself to read 100 books in the time-span of one year. I am now more than halfway towards that goal! In the year 2011 as a whole, I read a total of 57 books. I use Goodreads (www.goodreads.com) to organize my reading. Goodreads is a great tool to show your friends what you have read, what you are currently reading, or what you wish to read in the future. Goodreads also allows you the option of rating your books on a scale of 1-star to 5-stars. From Goodreads, here are my statistics for 2011.

Ratings:

– 1-star = 0 books
– 2-stars = 17 books
– 3-stars = 16 books
– 4-stars = 6 books
– 5-stars = 18 books

Along with the challenge to read 100 books in 2011, I also challenged myself to read the BBC Top 200 list. There were a few books that I had read from this list prior to beginning to challenge. However, I managed to read 4 books from the list this year.

Books Read – BBC Top 200

– Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
– The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy – Douglas Adams
– To Kill A Mockingbird – Lee Harper
– Winnie The Pooh – A.A. Milne

Reviews for these books can be found in previous posts.

As I have read a number of books this year, I shall not list all 57 books. However, below I will provide a list of a few of my favourites from 2011.

Favourites of 2011

– The Murder Room – Micheal Capuzzo
– 4:50 From Paddington – Agatha Christie
– The Girls of Murder City – Douglas Perry
– To Kill a Mockingbird – Lee Harper
– The Sherlockian – Graham Moore
– Gideon’s Sword – Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child
– Relic – Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

I have not reviewed most of these for my blog, as I started blogging late into the year. For 2012, this will hopefully change! However, I must take into account the fact that school takes precedence over much. Given that, I will do what I can to keep reading, keep reviewing, and put a larger dent into the BBC Top 200 book list.

Happy reading to all in the following year!

 

~ by aubreysmith9412 on January 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
