My Personal Challenge – Wutherhing Heights, Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

Synopsis

Wuthering Heights remains one of literature’s most disturbing explorations into the dark side of romantic passion. Heathcliff and Cathy believe they’re destined to love each other forever, but when cruelty and snobbery separate them, their untamed emotions literally consume them.

Set amid the wild and stormy Yorkshire moors, Wuthering Heights, an unpolished and devastating epic of childhood playmates who grow into soul mates, is widely regarded as the most original tale of thwarted desire and heartbreak in the English language.

 

My Thoughts

It astounds me quite thoroughly that this novel is considered one of the great romances. I do not find anything romantic about it. I gave the characters a bit more attention than normal, as this was the topic of an essay I am writing for my British Literature class. Generally speaking, I found Heathcliff to be quite the psychopath, while Cathy reminded me exquisitely of a sociopath, and everyone around them is simply collateral damage.

From beginning to bitter end, Heathcliff does nothing but make everyone around him miserable over his precious Cathy. Cathy, in turn, plays games with the people who are nearest and dearest to her. She is constantly testing to see how far both Heathcliff and Edgar will go to keep her happy. Edgar’s sister, Isabella, is merely collateral damage to Heathcliff’s disdain of Cathy’s marriage to Edgar. From there, a good part of the story goes downhill for me.

Where most of my friends – when I asked their opinions of the book – saw romance, I saw the damage done by the combination of psychopathic and sociopathic outrages. Cathy vexes her husband to hell and back for constantly teasing him about her affections for Heathcliff. Meanwhile, Heathcliff is off pining for her by making those around him fear, loathe, and detest him so assuredly.

Wutherhing Heights is not a “great romance” for me. Indeed, for me, it is an account of atrocious deeds done by detestable lead characters, masked with “romance” and “star crossed lovers” to allow sympathy and complacency to the musings of one psychopath (Heathcliff) and one sociopath (Cathy). There is no romance here. Only devastation and heart ache for any who happen to be unlucky enough to be involved.

~ by aubreysmith9412 on February 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
