My Personal Challenge – Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë

Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë

Synopsis

Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed. With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte’s innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers…

My Thoughts

I truly wish I had read this novel before I read Wuthering Heights. I found Jane’s adventures far more pleasing to read than those of the Emily Brontë’s novel.

I found Jane to be a truly loveable character. Despite all of the hardships that come her way, Jane never waivers from her morals and ideals. Like any human – fictional or reality – Jane often questions herself, whether her life is on the right path, and whether or not her decisions are right and just. This is seen exquisitely in her scenes with Mr. Rochester.

Mr. Rochester is a pompous, righteous man who is often humbled by Jane’s quick wit and stubborn ideals. This is what drives them so close together, this is the cement of their ever expanding relationship. As a reader, I craved to see their humorous interactions escalate into something more. That is exactly what I got, with a twist.

While this twist threw me greatly for a loop, Jane would not have grown and found more of herself had this not occurred. Jane’s plight following the tragic discovery if Mr. Rochester’s past is exactly what she needed to find greater independence, and truly discover what it is she wanted in life. In the end, we realize that it will always be Mr. Rochester whom she yearns for.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading this book. It was fun, flirty, tragic when necessary, and romantic. We see the growth of a wonderful girl into a strong woman – a woman with advanced feminist ideals slightly ahead of her time. We see a woman stay strong to herself, despite every social convention dictating she should do the exact opposite. Jane Eyre is a lovely story for any person pursuing a Victorian adventure. I would most definitely suggest giving this one a read before Wuthering Heights.

If you would like to know what my view is on that particular book, feel free to take a look at my previous post on the subject.

~ by aubreysmith9412 on April 19, 2012.

One Response to “My Personal Challenge – Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë”

  1. I love all three bronte ladies. I agree with ranking Jane Eyre above Wuthering Heights, but my favorite is actually the Tennant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte.

Leave a Reply

 
