Reliquary – Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Reliquary – Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Synopsis

Hidden deep beneath Manhattan lies a warren of tunnels, sewers, and galleries, mostly forgotten by those who walk the streets above. There lies the ultimate secret of the Museum Beast. When two grotesquely deformed skeletons are found deep in the mud off the Manhattan shoreline, museum curator Margo Green is called in to aid the investigation. Margo must once again team up with police lieutenant D’Agosta and FBI agent Pendergast, as well as the brilliant Dr. Frock, to try and solve the puzzle. The trail soon leads deep underground, where they will face the awakening of a slumbering nightmare.

My Thoughts

I’ve been a fan of the Pendergast books for a very, very long time, but I had missed out on the opportunity to read the first three or four of the enigmatic series. It’s an absolute treat for me to see Pendergast in the early days. I am enthralled by his eccentricity and quirks. I absolutely LOVE this character – I cannot emphasize this enough!

Reliquary is a brilliant sequel to Relic. Though all loose ends are tied neatly at the end of Relic, Reliquary throws us head first into a new theory involved the Mbwun beast, and how he came to be. In classic Preston and Child fashion, every time we think we are close to an answer, we’re thrown way more questions. Nothing is impossible, and Pendergast is going to find out precisely why.

That’s one of the things I love about these books – the more intricate the cases, the more I want to learn about various subjects related to them. While most events and content are fictitious, there’s always that one glimmer, that one little subplot which is developed from an actuality. In this case it was the subculture of human who live by their own social conventions deep in the underground tunnels of Manhattan – and various other spots around New York. These books make me want to look into this subject, and see what it’s really about.

Riddled with classic mystery, and tons of action, Reliquary is a fantastic read. I loved every moment of it.

When people ask me to recommend books, I always recommend these ones first. Preston and Child simply know what they’re doing, know how to do it well, and are phenomenal! I have never fallen in love with a character quite like I have fallen for Special Agent Aloysius X.L. Pendergast.

Read Relic first, then we’ll talk!

~ by aubreysmith9412 on September 14, 2012.

One Response to “Reliquary – Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child”

  1. Hi! I also didn’t read the first few books of the Pendergast novels until probably years after being introduced to them. In fact, I remember seeing the movie ‘Relic’ way back when and didn’t realize until years later that it was even a part of this series much less the first one! My first introduction was Fever Dream. I had read some Douglas & Preston prior to this, but happened upon Fever Dream in my local library’s new release section. I was so stoked after I read it to find out that there was already a whole series written with the amazing characters I so recently had fell in love with! Currently reading Cold Vengeance and as usual can’t put it down! Thanks for the awesome post. Melissa – TheNovelSphere.com

Leave a Reply

 
