My Personal Challenge – The Wind In the Willows, Kenneth Grahame

The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame

Synopsis

Meek little Mole, willful Ratty, Badger the perennial bachelor, and petulant Toad. In the almost one hundred years since their first appearance in 1908, they’ve become emblematic archetypes of eccentricity, folly, and friendship. And their misadventures-in gypsy caravans, stolen sports cars, and their Wild Wood-continue to capture readers’ imaginations and warm their hearts long after they grow up. Begun as a series of letters from Kenneth Grahame to his son, The Wind in the Willows is a timeless tale of animal cunning and human camaraderie. This Penguin Classics edition features an appendix of the letters in which Grahame first related the exploits of Toad.

My Thoughts

I read this with a familiar feeling of reading Winnie The Pooh. I probably would have enjoyed this much, much more had I been a child. However, the exploits of Toady certainly seem to have a rather adult nature to them.

Unfortunately, this review is going to be kept quite short. I feel there’s an allegory here somewhere in this book, though I haven’t a clue what it may be. The characters are all lovable in their own way, though they act quite juvenile quite a bit of the time. I suppose that’s the entire point.

Either way, I found this book to be rather mediocre. I wasn’t overly impressed, though it made for entertainment whilst at work bored out of my skull.

~ by aubreysmith9412 on October 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
