2012 Reading Roundup

This year, I challenged myself to read 60 books using Goodreads as a guide to track my reading. I did not accomplish this goal. I didn’t come anywhere near it. I barely made it half way. I only read 29 books this year, which is abysmal for me. This year was ripe with changes for me, however. I moved to a new city, started a new job, went back to school for a second undergraduate degree, and got engaged! A lot happened in a very short amount of time, which cut into my reading time as life, among other things, got in the way. However, using Goodreads, I can calculate my statistics for my 2012 reading year.

Ratings

– 1 star = 3 books
– 2 stars = 3 books
– 3 stars = 5 books
– 4 stars = 12 books
– 5 stars = 6 books

BBC Top 200 Books Read

– 1984 – George Orwell
– Withering Heights – Emily Brontë
– Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë
– Catch-22 – Josef Heller
– Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
– Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier
– The Wind In The Willows – Kenneth Grahame
– Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Total of 8 BBC Top 200 bo0ks read this year, which is double from last year. Huzzah! I may not have met my personal goal, but at least I managed to read more of the list. The reviews for these books can be found in my archives, and in my previous posts

Favourites of 2012

– 1984 – George Orwell
– Reliquary – Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child
– Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – Seth Grahame-Smith
– Dead Men Talking – Christopher Berry-Dee
– The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
– Clockwork Prince – Cassandra Clare

I didn’t review every book I read, but I did review quite a few here on this blog.

Though disappointed in myself for an abysmal reading year, I have challenged myself to 50 books for the year of 2013. Here’s to a very happy New Year, and all the best in 2013!!

Happy reading!

~ by aubreysmith9412 on January 1, 2013.

2 Responses to “2012 Reading Roundup”

  1. Congratulations on your achievements! Good luck with your reading goal for 2013. I’ve posted mine on my blog along with my top 10 book lists for 2012. My goal this year is to re-read slightly more books than I have in previous years. I’m still trying to figure out what quantity of books I want to set as a target.

    I look forward to more reviews for you when reading and time permit!

    • Thanks! I’m hoping for a better-set routine this term so as to manage my time much more effectively, which should allow for more reading time! I wish you all the best with your own reading goals this year, and I will be sure to keep tabs on your blog!

Leave a Reply

 
