2013 Reading Roundup

For 2013, I challenged myself through Goodreads to read 50 books. Once again, I’m faced with the fact that I did not reach my goals. I’m either way too ambitious, or I really suck at time management. What with two jobs and school, I found it most difficult to get any reading done that wasn’t school-related. In any case, 17 books were read, and most of those in the last few days of December! I’ll get back into my groove, and finally tackle the massive piles of books scattered across my apartment!

Ratings

– 1 star – 0 books- 2 stars – 0 books
– 3 stars – 3 books
– 4 stars – 11 books
– 5 stars – 3 books

BBC Top 200 Books Read

None. I did not read a single book on this list this year – though I did start one recently. It’ll all work out eventually!

Favourites of 2013

Two Graves – Douglas Preston and Lincoln ChildClockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare
Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn

I’m hoping for a more productive year in 2014. I’m setting my goal a bit lower this year (again) in hopes of being able to find a better balance between my professional life, school life, and private life. This year, I will be hoping to read 40 books. In the last couple of weeks, I’ve been over joyed at being able to get lost in works of fiction again. I really hope I don’t lose that magic due to extraneous circumstances, as it seems I’d done for the last little while.

But let me tell you, with all that in mind, 2014 is going to be my year! On top of my reading goals, I have a few personal goals to accomplish. I’ll be bloody damned if anyone gets in my way this year!

Allons-y!

~ by aubreysmith9412 on January 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
