My Personal Challenge – Little Women, Louisa May Alcott

Little Women – Louisa May Alcott

On another note, two posts in one day! I’m on a roll! Woohoo!

Little WomenSynopsis

Little Women is one of the best loved books of all time. Lovely Meg, talented Jo, frail Beth, spoiled Amy: these are hard lessons of poverty and of growing up in New England during the Civil War. Through their dreams, plays, pranks, letters, illnesses, and courtships, women of all ages have become a part of this remarkable family and have felt the deep sadness when Meg leaves the circle of sisters to be married at the end of Part I. Part II, chronicles Meg’s joys and mishaps as a young wife and mother, Jo’s struggle to become a writer, Beth’s tragedy, and Amy’s artistic pursuits and unexpected romance. Based on Louise May Alcott’s childhood, this lively portrait of nineteenth- century family life possesses a lasting vitality that has endeared it to generations of readers.

My Thoughts

I can certainly understand why this book is so beloved in the literary world, but I cannot agree. This is not the type of book I generally enjoy, though I am glad I read it. For the most part, I found much of the book dry and tedious. As the four girls grow up, it all seems so generic – which, at the end of the day, is exactly why it appeals to so many. It is a generic story of a Civil War time wherein a family must learn to love, grow, and mature in such circumstances.

The various love interests were entertaining, I have to say. It is quite fascinating to see how easily one’s feeling can be swayed with the right words in the right circumstances by the right people. Fascinating though it may be, it makes me laugh. That simply is not my kind of story. Here’s hoping my next adventure on the BBC list is better than this one.

~ by aubreysmith9412 on February 16, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
