2014 Reading Roundup

In 2014, I challenged myself to read 40 books. I did not meet this goal – I believe that makes three years in a row now where I don’t meet my goals. This is disappointing, but I refuse to beat myself up about it. I’ve been working very hard towards my second honours degree, and I’m proud of myself for that. This thesis year is kicking my arse, but that’s okay! The end result is all worth it.

Not all of the books I read this year were reviewed on my blog – there simply wasn’t enough time.

Ratings

1 Star – 1 book
2 Stars – 2 books
3 Stars – 9 books
4 Stars – 7 books
5 Stars – 5 books

BBC Top 200 Personal Challenge

I managed to read Little Women. I did not enjoy it. I’ve been putting off reading the next book on the list. Without double checking the list, I honestly don’t even remember what it is. I will be sure to tackle it this year.

Favourites of 2014

I absolutely adored Gillian Flynn this year. All three of her novels are brilliant. I read Sharp Objects back in 2013, and devoured Dark Places and Gone Girl. I would go back and read them all over again, over and over. They are that bloody brilliant.

I am re-setting my goal for 2015 at 40 books, and hoping for the best. I’m sure that I will be able to make it this time around! If not, well, there’s always next year!! I am not setting this goal as an end-all-be-all for my reading life. It’s a number I would like to achieve, and if I don’t make it, then I don’t make it. I’ve learned not to let myself get too upset about it.

Now, on a more personal note – I would like to thank all my readers and followers for sticking by the garbage I like to pass off as book reviews! You’ve made this blog worth keeping, and I want you all to know how much this means to me!

Wishing everyone all the the best in 2015.

Let’s make it a good one, yeah?

~ by aubreysmith9412 on January 1, 2015.

3 Responses to “2014 Reading Roundup”

  1. Keep trying to reach your goal and don’t give up you’ll get there 🙂 oh I’ve heard a lot of good things about gone girl. What are your thoughts on it? What made this one one of your favorites?

Leave a Reply

 
