Attachments – Rainbow Rowell

attachmentsSynopsis

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

My Thoughts

Unlike my first foray into reading a Rainbow Rowell novel, I quite enjoyed this book! I loved reading this book through Lincoln’s perspective. With a lot of romance, we’re accustomed to seeing things from a female perspective. It was nice knowing that men similarly find themselves in situations wherein they wish to woo the woman of their dreams.

The manner in which Lincoln falls in love with Beth is quite unconventional – and really creepy, if you think about it – but, in a weird way, it alludes to the notion that appearance isn’t the most important aspect of falling in love. This is a notion I support fully, creepiness aside. I’ll get to the creepy in a moment.

Beth is enigmatic and funny. Her interactions with her friend Jennifer leave me wishing I had such sassy, funny friendships. Not only are they super supportive of each other, but they’re blunt and frank. Words are not minced, and, at times, emotions are super raw. I absolutely love it! However, the way in which I know they’re funny, sarcastic, and sassy leaves me questioning a hell of a lot.

It is Lincoln’s job to read emails that are flagged on the work server as inappropriate, for whatever reason, and issue warnings about personal emails at work, and the inappropriateness of the content. Hence, the creepy. This rubs me the wrong way, as I’m a huge advocate for online privacy and anonymity. To an extent, it’s his job. Lincoln struggles morally with what he’s doing all the time. However, was it really ethical of his employers to alloy him to read such content? I have to keep in mind that this book takes place in 1999-2000, and the internet was a very different place 15 years ago. However, 2015 me still gets creeped out at the fact that an IT guy is reading email after email after it’s flagged, at the behest of his employers. Bleh.

Before I dive into a lengthy, fully-researched, and rant-like opinion piece on the ethics, or lack thereof, of internet surveillance, I’ll end this review by saying that I enjoyed this book. It was super quirky, funny, well-paced, and inherently enjoyable. Moral and ethical issues aside, the slow-burn of Lincoln falling in love with Beth – before he’s ever even met her – is heart-warming and really, really cute. This is definitely a book I’d go back to on a rainy day with a cup of tea for a great pick-me-up.

~ by aubreysmith9412 on October 3, 2015.

One Response to “Attachments – Rainbow Rowell”

  1. This is such an amazing post, I literally love your blog!

Leave a Reply

 
