On a personal note…

As it is December, I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to write in my yearly wrap-up. Before I make that post in the new year (most likely in the first week of January), I had some thoughts that I wanted to share with you all.

I most certainly will not be hitting my original goal, as per my Goodreads goal. I haven’t hit my goal in the last few years, and I’m choosing to accept that as it is. Instead of beating myself up about it, I’ve looked back at some of the reasons why I haven’t hit my goal. And that’s where this post comes in.

In the early months of 2015, I was still a thesis student – as I posted about previously – and that took up a large chunk of my time. As such, I didn’t get to do much reading that wasn’t directly related to my thesis.

Then came graduation. That same day, I got married – yay for simplicity! Family events, and the following honeymoon took up a considerable part of my summer.

After that, a large chunk of my time was taken up by job hunting, which has proven to be quite the adventure in and of itself. Between interviews, applications, and appointments, I’ve been writing freelance for a number of different sources. As such, once again, research and writing take up a considerable amount of time. I suppose reading academic journals count for something, but books and novels fall by the wayside as I stare down page upon page of research on various topics – most of which is outside of my field of knowledge.

Am I displeased that I’m not meeting my reading goals, as I’ve set up via my Goodreads account? Yes. But I’m not disappointed in myself, nor am I going to let anyone tell me my love of books is lessened because I didn’t read an established number of books in a 12 month span.

Will I attempt to hit my goal next year? Absolutely. I most certainly will try to read 50 books in 2016. That is the ideal, not a fixed figure.

I love books, and I love reading. That’s something about me that hasn’t changed since childhood. I will wax poetic about my love of reading in another personal post at another time. But, for now, as the year comes to a close, I have to acknowledge the reasons why I am not reading as much as I once was. And I have to accept those reasons, come to terms with them, change what I can, and deal with what I can’t change.

I love books. I’m going to read as much as I can, when I can. And when I can’t, well, I’ll deal with that in my own way.

~ by aubreysmith9412 on December 7, 2015.

2 Responses to “On a personal note…”

  1. Great post about having a healthy-attitude to goal setting. I feel your pain when it comes to not being able to read as much as one would like! I had similar struggles during the two years I was in England. Shorter summers, more stressful weeks at work, made it a lot harder to get in the reading I wanted to do. Last year I failed to meet my goal, despite revising it downwards halfway through!

    Fifty books is an amazing goal to have compared to the average person’s reading goals of “Maybe I’ll finish this novel this year.” 😉 And even though you’re not meeting that goal, you’ve still read a healthy number of books. That’s definitely worth celebration.

    I also love your attitude about accepting the reasons you haven’t been reading and dealing with what you can/can’t change. I am trying to do this (not just with reading, but with other aspects of my life) and otherwise embrace a more “mindful” mindset.

    Thanks for the inspiring post. 🙂

  2. Well you know your priorities & are okay with revising your goals according to your wants. I feel that’s great. So , good luck for your new goal & have a great year ahead:)

Leave a Reply

 
