2015 Reading Roundup

Another year come and gone, and, alas, another year where I did not meet my reading goals. I have addressed this in a previous post, but it’s worth repeating that my reading goals are my ideals, they are not fixed figures. That’s the whole point of a goal – sometimes you meet it, sometimes you don’t, and you try again next time. So, that’s what I’m doing. Now that I’ve got a better handle of my life, and adulthood, and the whole adulting thing, I will strive to do better this year – for myself.

This year, I managed to read 18 books, and quite a few of them were directly related to my thesis research and materials. And yes, they still count – a book is a book, no matter what it’s being read for, or in which format it is being presented.

Ratings

1 Star – 3 books
2 Stars – 1 book3 Stars – 6 books
4 Stars – 7 books
5 Stars – 1 book

BBC Top 200 Personal Challenge

Seeing as I never set a timeline for this challenge (I really just wanted to get through the list in my lifetime), I keep forgetting about it. Silly of me, yes, but I’m hoping to knock 3 books off this list this year – it’s part of my goal to do so. That said, I didn’t read anything off this list this year.

2015 Favourite

The Help was a book that stood out to me. I adored it. In fact, it’s the only book I gave 5 stars to this year, as per the Goodreads rating scale. I was so enraptured with this book, I couldn’t put it down. It took me mere hours to finish, and I was so enthralled with the characters, I almost never wanted the book to end. I certainly hope for more experiences like this in the year to come.

What’s in Store for 2016

This year, I’ve set my goal at 50 books, 3 of which will be from the BBC Top 200 list, hopefully. I have three books series’ that I’ve currently got on the go, and I’m hoping to finish one (seeing as the whole series has been published), and get caught up on the other two before I begin any other book series.

If I do begin another book series, The Dresden Files have been recommended to me on multiple occasions by various sources, so it seems like a good place to pick up on another adventure!

I’m hoping to contribute more reviews this year – I have a bad habit of not reviewing every book I read. I’m also honing my focus on my career – freelance writer/editor. It’s not an easy career choice, but it’s the path I’ve chosen, and I’m so very content with this decision, and all of the support my friends and family have offered. I haven’t been easy to put up with the last couple years, but I’m figuring my shit out (for lack of a better saying), and I’m working hard and focused towards not only my reading and writing goals, but my personal goals as well.

So, here’s to a fun-filled 2016! Happy reading!

~ by aubreysmith9412 on January 2, 2016.

4 Responses to “2015 Reading Roundup”

  1. I really want to read The Dresden Files this year!! It sounds so great. Good luck in 2016 for reading, blogging, and life in general!

  2. Dresden Files is SO GOOD. Although it takes a while to build up steam, the mythology just layers on, so that by the time you’re in the fourth for fifth books, there are great callbacks to previous events. The first few books are very much standalone mysteries, and then Dresden’s actions start catching up to him. Can’t wait to hear your takes!

Leave a Reply

 
