Cosmic Spells and Vampire Lairs – Mia Monroe

cosmic spells and vampire lairs

Synopsis

Are we destined to be star-crossed lovers or is Fate on our side?

My friends are finding mates while I’m stuck with a sexy but silent vampire. Sure, Pietro is everything a boy could want- handsome, strong, brooding, and possessive. It’s just that with my gift, I’m well aware that he’s not the one fate has in store for me. He couldn’t be. For one thing, his mercury is always in retrograde.

Besides, we have bigger issues to deal with than romance. We’re at war with a real jerk, and it’s only getting worse. If I’m going to be helpful, I’ll need to focus and listen to the stars, not stare at Pietro’s gorgeous face. I live my life with light and stardust while who even knows where Pietro’s thoughts are. Even I can’t get in his head.

Everything changes when we go on a quest to find a missing witch who just might be possessed. I meet a person who sees more than I do, and he’s got a feeling about me. If I listen to him, and convince the vampire it’s real, I might just get everything I ever hoped for. That is, if this war doesn’t ruin everything before it even begins.

Cosmic Spells and Vampire Lairs is an MM paranormal romance featuring a cosmic witch with his head in the stars, a pining and brooding vampire, more demons doing bad things, and a deepening mystery that leads to a dangerous discovery. It is book four in the Covens of Eaton Falls series. Each book features a different couple with an ongoing conflict and therefore should be read in order.

My Thoughts

The first thing I noticed about this book was how much Callisto’s sole focus on astrology and tarot was going to annoy me. It felt obvious to me that he was willing to ignore everything else, including his instincts, which seem to be extremely important to the witches of this series, if the cards or the stars didn’t give him direction. The weaponized ignorance just grated on me from the get go, and my heart completely went out to Pietro.

Pietro is absolutely smitten with Callisto, who will not give him the time of day, because the stars didn’t tell him to pay attention to Pietro. Normally, this is the part where I tell him to cut his losses and find a partner who respects him, at the very least, but that can’t shake out in this case. There’s still the threat of war, and the witches of Eaton Falls – and places far and wide – need protection from the vampires. Which leaves Callisto under Pietro’s watch. And honestly, it’s painful to watch.

All that being said, Callisto’s friends don’t let him keep his head in the stars for too long. But by the time he opens himself up tp actually listen to his instinct, I was already quite deeply seated in my annoyance, and Callisto’s character development came just a little too late for me.

Despite all that, the war keeps getting heated. More revelations – and of course more questions – come to light, but it’s all getting very complicated, and very convoluted. It’s getting a little hard to keep track of all the moving parts, and their roles in the war against the covens of Eaton falls – and all of existence, really.

Even though I didn’t really enjoy this book as much as the first three of the series, I do understand why forwarding the plot in this way was necessary overall. There are two books left, and I have a feeling they’re both going to be very action-packed. While I’m looking forward to that, I don’t know if I have the bandwidth for this plot to get even more complicated than it already is.

~ by Aubrey Smith on May 19, 2024.

Leave a comment